Dark Clan Forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: What Graphics Card Do you guys have?  (Read 20088 times)
m4rt1ni
Dark Clan Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 760


« Reply #180 on: Tue 29.03.2011 18:12:35 »

Lol decided to take it to test and lower my settings to the lowest setting possible.
It doesn't change my fps at all, it remains the same in all places, still have the fps drops to 40...

Officially stumped.

Four words: You Are CPU LIMITED!

assassin[be]
Godlike Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 245


Where's the gum?


« Reply #181 on: Tue 29.03.2011 18:27:30 »

You really think it's bottleneck that is causing this?
My graphics card isn't that bad, lol.

m4rt1ni
Dark Clan Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 760


« Reply #182 on: Tue 29.03.2011 18:47:01 »

Your CPU can't keep up with your GPU.

Your CPU < Your GPU

In other word your GPU isn't utilized for 100% 'cos the CPU isn't able to deliver enough workload to the GPU. Therefore your 6870 is just chillin' and hanging around, not doing much work, cuz the CPU can't deliver more.

This can differ depending on the game you're running. Anyway 100-150fps and you're complaining?

l3oomer
Godlike Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 217



« Reply #183 on: Tue 29.03.2011 18:49:42 »

yeah try to play like me, 20/60 fps's  msn001.gif
VegasKill
Administrator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3870



« Reply #184 on: Tue 29.03.2011 19:21:35 »

Quad 3.4 as limitating factor? May there be something that overheats?

Mess with the best, die like the rest
assassin[be]
Godlike Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 245


Where's the gum?


« Reply #185 on: Tue 29.03.2011 20:45:49 »

@Martini

I know what bottleneck is, and many people are convinced that it's not bottleneck.
Would be surprised if my CPU wouldn't be able to keep up with my GPU.
Some are saying that there is a component that isn't functioning right and they adviced me to do a memtest, which I'm doing now. So far no errors.

And I'm complaining about the fact that my fps drops to 30-40 fps from time to time(very noticable) and that lowering my settings doesn't solve it. I only get 150 when looking to the floor, otherwise my fps sticks to 60 when it isn't so low.

@Vegaskill
3.4 is the standard clockspeed of the 965, haven't bothered overlocking it.
And last time I checked, my temps of everything seemed normal.

VegasKill
Administrator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3870



« Reply #186 on: Tue 29.03.2011 20:54:39 »

@Vegaskill
3.4 is the standard clockspeed of the 965, haven't bothered overlocking it.
And last time I checked, my temps of everything seemed normal.
Okay. Don't know what else could be the reason.

Mess with the best, die like the rest
assassin[be]
Godlike Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 245


Where's the gum?


« Reply #187 on: Tue 29.03.2011 21:08:58 »

Doing a memtest, but it takes 20 min if not longer.
Can't do anything now or else it wouldn't be well executed...

Hoping I can find the source of the problem because it has been irritating me for some time.
Might just reinstall my PC hoping that will fix the problem tongue, it has worked before tongue.

PainSavour
Dark Clan Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 250



« Reply #188 on: Tue 29.03.2011 21:45:29 »

Wondering if that actually makes a difference, having a higher refreshrate.
With my montitor the max is 60Hz on my resolution(1680x1050).

Also think my fps is a bit too low for the specs I have(I run the game on maximum):
Sapphire AMD HD6870 1GB
AMD Phenom x4 965 @ 3,4GHz
4GB DDR3 1600MHz

The max fps I get is about 100(when looking to the floor it goes up to 150) and I get drops to 40 sometimes :/, I have no fps limit set up in UT3(no limit, no smoothing, no v-sync).

Bad drivers maybe? Maybe the drivers of my old card weren't completely removed and it's causing trouble?

120 Hz does make a difference. Personally I've noticed it most in close quarters when I have to turn a lot, keeps things smoother.  Also 120 Hz monitors have smaller input lag too, or at least my monitor has a zero lag mode. It's a small advantage though, nothing big.

I wouldn't say 100 fps for 6870 and max settings a bad fps, but of course it depends on what game type you're playing. IIRC my fps sinks in 32 player warfare to 40 or so at worst, but in BTA it usually stays 100+ I think I have a cap at 160 atm so don't know how high it would go. And I have a 955BE@3,6Ghz and an unlocked 6950 clocked to 890 Mhz.


You can't spell Slaughter without Laughter!
darkredfox
Dark Clan Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 954


GRRRRR!


« Reply #189 on: Tue 29.03.2011 22:19:10 »

I play with my old roaring 4870 1GB and it makes still 60fps on high with full HD, but I guess I haven't AA or such sophisticated things.  embarrassed

@assassin:

Reinstalling could be a good idea but maybe u can check b4 with a log whats happens while u drop down to 40 fps... Dunno what, but I guess it isn't a hardware problem. Too wide spread from 150 to 40. The only solution beside full install: Check the MoBo-BIOS and his settings or update this.

greetz f0xy

Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl FHTAGN.
DEVIL_77
Mr. Massacre
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 544



« Reply #190 on: Sat 02.04.2011 19:53:46 »

My graphics card is now a shit... Nvidia GeForceDown 9800GTX+...

I will buy a new card next month...

I want this one but  Grin the price is awesome  msn004.gif
Look this video at 06:00 minutes, i want to play like this guy !!! (Cool job lol ^^)


http://www.diabloprogress.com/player/devilinside-2230

"There is no knowledge, that is no power"
aka_sova
Dark Clan Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3162



« Reply #191 on: Thu 21.04.2011 20:52:25 »

Holy crap, is there any vacancy on "professional gamer" job?  Crazysmile1

     <=== click!
m4rt1ni
Dark Clan Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 760


« Reply #192 on: Thu 21.04.2011 21:26:37 »

Never buy a vid card with 2 GPUs on a single PCB!!!

Axwell{VS}
Doublekill Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 62



« Reply #193 on: Wed 04.05.2011 18:09:43 »

interesting is that guy paid for that that he everyday play games with best video cards and on 3 unite monitors ?

Think you are nooB ... ?
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]   Go Up
Print
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
© 2008-2016 | design by radarfox | webmaster VegasKill