Dark Clan Forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Map bugs/glitches in official maps  (Read 5597 times)
Nightmare85
Godlike Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


will not come back!


« on: Sun 12.10.2008 01:01:21 »

Hi guys  :)

I created a thread about map glitches in EPICs forum 2 months ago.
http://utforums.epicgames.com/showthread.php?t=620644

My aim is that Epic will fix some of these or all glitches.
I mean it is official and this means Epic should know them.
The main problem is that the members in Epic's forum seem too lazy
 or disinterested to keep the thread up so the thread goes away and away.
Would be nice if some of you would push it sometimes :)
(Seems stupid if I always write in my own thread^^)

Do you know any other glitches?
I'll add the SuXpense-glitch where you can hide behind the wall near the boots.
Then I also will add some WAR-Downtown-glitches.

I already wrote PMs to the forum admins of Epic forum and I e-mailed the epic chef ehm boss^^
No answer until now :(
My desire is that patch 1.4 fixes some of these problems.

Thanks for any help :)

P.S. Vegas, where are you? I didn't see you online for a long time...

Greets

I left this forum because of Mordsspass' senseless closings and deletings.
aka_sova
Dark Clan Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3162



« Reply #1 on: Sun 12.10.2008 13:35:33 »

thx, i didn't know some of the glitches of warfare maps.

Actually, i know a lot more bugs and glitches on VCTF maps, than you mentioned. If you want, i can share them with you. Epic will not fix them anyway. They even don't write their own forum :S

     <=== click!
VegasKill
Administrator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3869



« Reply #2 on: Sun 12.10.2008 19:21:37 »

Hi Nightmare!

I really appreciate your efforts to improve UT3 by requesting bug fixes (and I knew some further ones), but don't you think that it is contraproductive to post them in public? Any irrational and undisciplined player (...they do exist) can take use of those bugs in online games if it is for their advantage.
And Epic... well, maybe it fixes the maps because PS3 and XBox are affected too  embarrassed

Mess with the best, die like the rest
Nightmare85
Godlike Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


will not come back!


« Reply #3 on: Mon 13.10.2008 00:55:24 »

Hello, thanks for your replies :)

@aka_sova:
Yes, you can say it to me or show me screenshots (or we meet online at a free server).

@VegasKill :
I respect and accept your opinion.
Of course it has disadvantages to post them public (as you mentioned).
But I made it because of 2 reasons:

Reason 1:
Epic can't deny it.
I mean everyone will think they are blind/stupid/ignorant because the thread is in their own forum and was many times on the 1s page.
(And I PMed the admins and e-mailed Epic, too).
This all increases the pressure against Epic.
If it would be only private (e-mails, PMs), well, then they simply could ignore it with the hope that the other ut3 players don't know anything about these glitches.

Reason 2:
Nearly every unfair method (in this case glitch) has a counter.
The glitcher has only an advantage if the others don't know how to reach/kill him or where he could hide.
If you also know these unfair tricks then he is very quick(ly?) a dead glitcher^^
Sometimes I see some people trying to use a glitch but I quickly knock them out.
(Just because I know the glitches, too).
The other method is that an admin just kicks and bans a glitcher.

_______

wow, I found a fatality glitch on Kargo (I will not post it in Epic forum but here):
(And it is just a continue of the one glitch).

You already know the glitch that you can jump over the door in blue base.
If one team leads (example: 2:1 for red) the red guy takes the blue flag, jumps over the door and falls, falls and falls^^
After around 1 minute "free fall" he dies and loses the flag.
The problem: The flag never gets returned...
Blue team can't win this match - in this case no counter if the red guy already falls.
(Only a map restart would help).
Sad, but true...  Cry
http://freenet-homepage.de/nightmare85_2/xyz/ScreenShot00000.jpg
http://freenet-homepage.de/nightmare85_2/xyz/ScreenShot00002.jpg
http://freenet-homepage.de/nightmare85_2/xyz/ScreenShot00003.jpg
http://freenet-homepage.de/nightmare85_2/xyz/ScreenShot00004.jpg
http://freenet-homepage.de/nightmare85_2/xyz/ScreenShot00005.jpg
http://freenet-homepage.de/nightmare85_2/xyz/ScreenShot00007.jpg
http://freenet-homepage.de/nightmare85_2/xyz/ScreenShot00008.jpg
http://freenet-homepage.de/nightmare85_2/xyz/ScreenShot00009.jpg
http://freenet-homepage.de/nightmare85_2/xyz/ScreenShot00010.jpg
http://freenet-homepage.de/nightmare85_2/xyz/ScreenShot00012.jpg
(P.S: Screenshoot00012 means that you also can hide and jump back into the base).

Greets

I left this forum because of Mordsspass' senseless closings and deletings.
aka_sova
Dark Clan Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3162



« Reply #4 on: Mon 13.10.2008 11:50:02 »

i will try to contact with you today and i will show u glitches on some server. May be even on our server.

btw, here is one more site, where a lot of glitches are shown in video form. very cool. Link

     <=== click!
Nightmare85
Godlike Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


will not come back!


« Reply #5 on: Mon 13.10.2008 13:50:03 »

*I had some connection problems with the forum*

Good link, thanks!
I e-mailed them (after I looked at all links :D - not my language^^)  if I can use their videos in my thread because they show some glitches more clearly.

I'll send you a message when I'm in UT3 and you are online as well.

Greets

I left this forum because of Mordsspass' senseless closings and deletings.
VegasKill
Administrator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3869



« Reply #6 on: Mon 20.10.2008 20:35:48 »



Edit: There is a bug in the video too: it shows deck and in the title appears Necropolis ^^


« Last Edit: Mon 20.10.2008 20:37:31 by VegasKill »

Mess with the best, die like the rest
aka_sova
Dark Clan Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3162



« Reply #7 on: Mon 20.10.2008 21:06:03 »

i didn't know, that u can jump up there right from the lift in Necro O_o Cool!

I liked the label "Suckspense"  Crazysmile1

     <=== click!
Nightmare85
Godlike Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


will not come back!


« Reply #8 on: Tue 21.10.2008 01:21:26 »

Cool video.
Yes, Suckspense is the correct name. I think I have to write it in my UT3 bug list, too :D :D

Just a question: Is this video very new?! I mean UT3 version 1.3?
Because I thought the night shade bug was fixed with patch 1.3
I'll try out the glitches tomorrow.

And I think I'll make the map glitch thread with screenshots (like in the bug thread).
Should be really better!

Greets

I left this forum because of Mordsspass' senseless closings and deletings.
aka_sova
Dark Clan Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3162



« Reply #9 on: Tue 21.10.2008 10:12:36 »

The bug with nightshade fixed only with vipers Tongue

     <=== click!
Nightmare85
Godlike Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


will not come back!


« Reply #10 on: Tue 21.10.2008 12:38:15 »

lol that's really stupid.
I think Epic can only do "half works", these "#

I left this forum because of Mordsspass' senseless closings and deletings.
Nightmare85
Godlike Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


will not come back!


« Reply #11 on: Wed 22.10.2008 14:00:53 »

I tried the Shangri-La glitch, but I don't get it...
http://www.ut3web.webgarden.cz/shangri-la

My position is not that low, but I still don't find it.
http://nightmare85.kilu.de/ut3/map_glitches/ScreenShot00048.jpg
http://nightmare85.kilu.de/ut3/map_glitches/ScreenShot00051.jpg
http://nightmare85.kilu.de/ut3/map_glitches/ScreenShot00052.jpg

Maybe some of you could try it and confirm if it still works?
However, I tried the fly-cheat and it works, that means there is skywalking possible and this jump should work, too.
To the jump: Just a normal hammer jump + 1 jump boot!?

Off-Topic:
Has anyone made experience with the free hoster "kilu.de"?
Because I think about to transfer my complete freenet-folders and files to kilu.de...
Would not be complicate to change all adresses because I make it with texteditor "search and replace".

Greets

I left this forum because of Mordsspass' senseless closings and deletings.
aka_sova
Dark Clan Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3162



« Reply #12 on: Wed 22.10.2008 16:48:43 »

I didn't get Shangri-la glitch too ((( Dunno what's the problem.

     <=== click!
darkredfox
Dark Clan Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 954


GRRRRR!


« Reply #13 on: Wed 22.10.2008 18:23:07 »

Hello Nightmare, i need to tell u my respect 4 ur work. Many of this glitches, errors and mistakes are so annoying. They harms this awesome game.  :( In fact the invisible destroyed vehicles are the greatest sucking ever!

So i have a big prob, but maybe its a hardware error: Sometimes my screen freezes and i have two possibilities 4 restart. If i'm a lucky fox the taskmanager goes on an i can kill the ut3.exe (100% busy). If not, i only see with different mouse symbols that the manager is open, but i cannot klick. So i have to restart the hard way...  Cry

I've heard about this problem from other ppl and i dunnot freeze in other games nor programs. So i think its depending from my lovely UT3.

Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl FHTAGN.
VegasKill
Administrator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3869



« Reply #14 on: Wed 22.10.2008 19:28:20 »

Off-Topic:
Has anyone made experience with the free hoster "kilu.de"?
Because I think about to transfer my complete freenet-folders and files to kilu.de...

Don't use Kilu! I switched too from a similar host like Kilu, read here: http://www.ciao.de/Kilu_de__7730469

If you want you can look at the (free) hosts with the best ratings here:

1-> http://www.free-webhosts.com/user_reviews.php
2-> http://raw.to/rubriken/freewebspace_pages.html


If you don't need any support I can reccomend www.freehyperspace.com


Would not be complicate to change all adresses because I make it with texteditor "search and replace".

?? Whats your plan?? Just copy everything and keep the structure,... or didn't you use relative paths to your main site?


Mess with the best, die like the rest
Nightmare85
Godlike Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


will not come back!


« Reply #15 on: Wed 22.10.2008 22:25:42 »

@darkredfox:
Thanks :)
To your problem:
Do you play any other games without problems?
I also have sometimes crashes when I play UT3.
It uses a lot of cpu & gpu power and ram, too.

I would say you check your temperatures and try to check cpu, gpu and ram.
For cpu: prime95 (http://www.computerbase.de/downloads/software/systemueberwachung/prime95/?url=23096)
For ram: memtest boot version (http://www.computerbase.de/downloads/software/systemueberwachung/memtest86/)

Do you play with V-Sync on?
There is a bug that UT3 uses constantly (or nearly) 100% CPU power if it's enabled.

@VegasKill :
ok.
I realized that the load time is longer with kilu.
Freenet seems faster.
The search and replace is easy:
Currently, the screenshots are at:
http://freenet-homepage.de/nightmare85/ut3/screen.jpg
the kilu structure would be:
http://nightmare85.kilu.de/ut3/map_glitches/screen.jpg
So I replace every freenet... with the kilu links. works perfectly.
But I think I'll keep to freenet.

Thanks.

Greets

I left this forum because of Mordsspass' senseless closings and deletings.
VegasKill
Administrator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3869



« Reply #16 on: Wed 22.10.2008 23:35:51 »

OK. ...I have seen that if I try to open multiple pics at the same time the 404 not found message of freenet is displayed. ...Its relatively quick and has no upload limits, maybe I take a look at freenet for hosting videos or flashs... Greez

Mess with the best, die like the rest
Nightmare85
Godlike Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


will not come back!


« Reply #17 on: Thu 23.10.2008 23:27:13 »

OK, I've updated this thread, too.
Thanks for your help :)
http://utforums.epicgames.com/showthread.php?t=620644

That's the changelog:

- added thumbnail function (45 MB!)
- added more glitches:
[*]VCTF-Sandstorm (1 glitch)
[*]VCTF-Suspense (2 glitches)
[*]WAR-Serenity (1 glitch)
- added 2 new maps:
[*]WAR-Downtown (2 glitches)
[*]VCTF-Necropolis (2 glitches)
- more introduction text

I hope you like the changes.

Edit
1.7 will have:
- the Shangri-La glitch
- the other skywalking trick in Corruption
- and a lot of more^^

Off-Topic:
I think my Shangri-La problem is that I can't the hammer jump very good.
I can't even reach the Redeemer place on Sandstorm:
The first jump:

(Beware of the music. lol)

Greets
« Last Edit: Thu 23.10.2008 23:32:05 by Nightmare »

I left this forum because of Mordsspass' senseless closings and deletings.
VegasKill
Administrator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3869



« Reply #18 on: Fri 24.10.2008 20:50:00 »

Great list, but the site is getting too heavy to load, at least for my low end Machine. My fox increases memory usage and the site is not really scrollable... until i closed the site (at 280mb, cose i got only 512mb ram) it didn't stop  Embarrassed

Maybe you should think about converting the thumbnails to a web conform size (down from ~400kb to ~70 or less) if you want to show them all at the same time...  and the site will load faster if it is not as large as 12mb.
Greets

Mess with the best, die like the rest
aka_sova
Dark Clan Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3162



« Reply #19 on: Fri 24.10.2008 23:39:34 »

did you upload the pics directly from the screenshots folder?  Shocked

omg, they are overweighted there Crazysmile1

     <=== click!
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
Print
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
© 2008-2016 | design by radarfox | webmaster VegasKill